POCSOUTH-L Archives

Archiver > POCSOUTH > 2003-02 > 1046460898


From: "Sandyj_genealogy" <>
Subject: [POCSOUTH-L ] New Scam
Date: Fri, 28 Feb 2003 14:37:07 -0500


This has come thru a couple of my "help" maillist and thought I should pass
it on especially for the new ones to the internet. Below the response I gave
to one of the maillist. Maybe it will help some of you to keep aware. Sandy

****
Hi Everyone:

The old genealogy scam is back. www.genseekers.com

Behind the password protection are links to the free
genealogy on-line. There is no content of their own.

In order to get the "5-day free trial" you have to
surrender a credit card or bank account number. You
have to cancel within 5 days or you get dinged. Guess
what? The cancellation e-mail bounces. Does this
surprise you?

One person who recently fell for the come-on had
his/her account dinged not once, but twice.

It is time to remind folks on your state and county
mailing lists about these scoundrels. It has been a
couple of years since we have mentioned this.

Permission is granted to pass this on.

*****

If I recall correctly they pop up under different names every so often
to continue their "business". If everyone would do one thing before
"ordering" from someone they do not know..or know someone that has already
done business with and are happy...bookmark the website <A
HREF="www.networksolutions.com">
www.networksolutions.com</A> On the right side of the page above the bar
that
has "home"..you will find "whois" .. click it..For an example of what you
should find but don't find under genseekers.com type in one of my business
names (be sure domain name is clicked as your search and do not type in
www.):

genealogyshoppe.com or censusview.org

You will find out all about me..my name, address, phone number, my webhost
and how to contact them..the date the domain names was first formed
(Genealogy Shoppe I used my aol service prior...Census View is when I bought
the company), it shows when I last paid for my domain name and when it
expires and I have to pay again.

NOW go back and type in genseekers.com The only thing it tells you about
them...is they have created the domain name and will soon be expiring but if
they keep it current the $10 - $15 they have to pay to keep it is nothing
compared to what they can scam people (they also use a cheap webhost). No
physical address is given and wow take a close look at the phone number..not
even a phone number <g> Now if you have complaint with "bad business" you
can
contact the business you are dealing with webhost and if they find they have
bad practices ... they can take down their website.

I did just a little more searching to give people an idea of other things
they can do. Genseekers.com lists on networksolutions.com as they are based
in CA but on their website they show their contact as in IA. If you go to
yellowpages.com you will not find a company name listed in Grand Rapids, IA.
If you go to whitepages.com you do not find a phone number as existing so it
may be a new number, unlisted number or just a number they posted on their
contact page that does not exist. Also on whitepages.com if you search by
address..it is apparently an apartment complex number rather than a business
suite number as it lists numerous person names for the address rather than
business names. Nothing against home based businesses as I am one
too..nothing against apartment dwellers...but how is any one without a great
expense going to find out which person in the apartment complex is
responsible for
scamming...little easier to pick up and leave if you are renting/leasing an
apartment.

Hope this helps someone not be scammed.

Good luck in your search!


This thread: