BRADFORD-L Archives
Archiver > BRADFORD > 2001-03 > 0985507482
From:
Subject: [BRADFORD-L] Ethics
Date: Sun, 25 Mar 2001 03:04:42 EST
Good Morning,
I received this from another mailing list and thought many of you might be
interested. If not I apologize for taking up your time but I think as Dick
says "Buyer beware." I personally had an experience with this sort of thing.
I keep finding MY own material on a CD that I did NOT authorize.
Have a good day.
Kat
Dick Marston wrote:
>
> Listers:
>
> I have naively included a link to GenForum for those wishing to post
> and respond to Rockingham and Marston surname queries. Furthermore,
> I have innocently posted several responses on those forums. Today, I
> have amended the link on Rockingham's Queries Index Page to read as
> follows:
>
> **If you want still another place to search and post, try the Rockingham
> County message board on [ genforum.genealogy.com/nh/rockingham/ ]
> WARNING!! Any information which you share on GenForum's message
> boards may be copied by Genealogy.com [/FamilyTreeMaker.com] and
> sold by them for profit either as data included on a monthly/annual
> subscription or as a CD for purchase. Much of this information is totally
> unreliable. Caveat emptor [Buyer beware]. In order to see what, if any,
> information Genealogy.com has acquired from your voluntary contributions,
> you will first need to subscribe to their service available to
> paying members only.**
>
> I am SO angry I could spit!! Until I started checking up on this fiasco
> about my father's pedigree, I had NO clue that Genealogy.com was
> doing this. I want to declare WAR! I can't get through to their leaders,
> but I sure would like to get through to their potential customers and
> unwitting voluntary contributors.
>
> Please feel free to copy and paste [or send] this warning wherever,
> or to whomever, you think might do the most good. You may post it as
> your own message or as a quote from me, whichever you prefer. Your help
> will be greatly appreciated.
>
>
>
This thread: