ABERDEEN-L ArchivesArchiver > ABERDEEN > 2000-06 > 0960898658
From: "Norman D. Nicol" <>
Subject: Re: COOTER???
Date: Tue, 13 Jun 2000 08:17:38 -0400
Just to answer some of your questions, the O.S. Pathfinder map no. 259
does show only Kirkton of Maryculter, but the old Victorian O.S. maps
hved the parish names on them (in this case nos. 67 and 77).
The Kirkton of Maryculter only has a few house clustered around the new
church, dedicated in 1782, which replaces the old church which dates
from the Templar foundation. The building of the new church was a
matter of necessity as the old one was falling apart. There was no
establishment based on a religious settlement.
As for the Templars who owned the later parishes of Maryculter and
Peterculter, as well as a lot of other territory along Deeside, check
the entry under Maryculter in the Old Statistical Account. Also, the
chapter on Maryculter in -
Henderson, John A. Annals of Lower Deeside. Aberdeen: D. Wyllie & Son,
has a lot of the early history of the parish regarding the Templars.
Whether there is info on Dunbar connections remains to be seen. The
actual MIs in the kirkyard of Templars Park was transcribed by A. Strath
Maxwell, a copy of which is in the ANESFHS. Both old and new kirkyards
are transcribed in -
Mitchell, Alison (ed.). Pre-1855 Gravestone Inscriptions - An Index for
Kincardineshire (The Mearns). Edinburgh: The Scottish Genealogy
As for the Deeside Hotel, there is a nice selection of beers and ales
available for consumption and sitting out on the terrace over the Dee is
a pleasant experience.
Hope the foregoing helps,
Harvey's Lake PA